TTT “Top 10 Tuesday” ist ein wöchentliches Meme von The Broke and the Bookish

I got more than 150 books last year which was quite a lot but of course I didn’t get all the books I had on my 2015 wishlist – which is on the one hand a bit sad because there are so many interesting books that I missed but on the other hand it gives me enough material for this week’s Top 10 Tuesday topic, the “Top 10 2015 releases I meant to get but to didn’t”. I decided to only list books that I don’t own already because next week’s topic already deals with books on the TBR pile, so here are the ten books where I regret the most that I didn’t buy and read them last year…

TTT_2015_Releases

Bone Gap – Laura Ruby
It think it was Crini’s review that made me aware of this book for the first time and even though it’s not the kind of book that I would usually read I became very curious about it because according to Crini is was quite a unique and mysterious story and I wanted to know what exactly made that book so special. I think the only reason for why I haven’t bought it yet is that the hardcover is quite expensive, so maybe I’ll just wait for the paperback release before I finally get it.

Way Down Dark – James Smythe
This book was pitched as “perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent” and even though I eventually ended up hating the Divergent series the Hunger Games part still made me quite curious. Unfortunately the price of this one was also quite high (who pays 18€ for a paperback?) and I wasn’t sure if the story would be worth it, so I guess I’ll rather wait for a cheaper edition or until the whole trilogy is out.

The Rest of Us Just Live Here – Patrick Ness
I’m still a bit behind when it comes to Patrick Ness’s books because I had only read “A Monster Calls” and “More Than This” until the end of 2015 and the main reason for why I didn’t get his latest novel (even though the book is SO pretty!) was that I wanted to read the Chaos Walking series first – at least I’ve already read “The Knife of Never Letting Go” in the meantime…

Star Wars: Aftermath – Chuck Wendig
I’m usually excited about EVERY new Chuck Wendig novel and when I heard that he would write a Star Wars story I was even more excited but I’m always a bit sceptical when it comes to books that are part of a movie franchise. Also the hardcover was very expensive and I was quite disappointed by Wendig’s latest novel “Zer0es”, so I ended up not buying it (for now).

Liar Liar – M.J. Arlidge
The Helen Grace mysteries have become one of my favorite thriller series and the only reason for why I didn’t get this one is that I still need to read the third book “The Doll’s House” which has been on my TBR pile for quite a while now…

TTT_2015_Releases2

Welcome to Night Vale – Joseph Fink, Jeffrey Cranor
I didn’t even know about the “Welcome to Night Vale” podcast until I discovered the book on Goodreads but I decided for myself that it would probably be wiser to listen to the podcast first because I’m expecting lots of references in the story and was afraid I wouldn’t understand them. I’ve listened to more than 50 out of currently 80 episodes in the meantime so I hope to be able to buy the book soon!

The Game of Lives – James Dashner
Even though I didn’t enjoy the first two books of the “Mortality Doctrine” trilogy as much as I had hoped I’m still curious about how this series will end, but I wasn’t excited about it enough to get it right on release date.

Snowblind – Ragnar Jónasson
I love reading Nordic mysteries and thrillers and since I went to Iceland last year I really wanted to read this one and was even close to buying it in a bookstore in Reykjavik but then didn’t because English books were quite expensive there. Back in Germany I then forgot about it but I still intend to read it some day.

The Devil’s Only Friend – Dan Wells
I originally intended to read the first three books in the John Cleaver series before the release date of book four but only managed to read the first two novels so far so this one will still have to wait a little while before I get it.

After the Crash – Michel Bussi
I want to read this book mostly for two reasons: 1) because it was compared to Stieg Larsson in a journalist’s praise for the book and 2) because the story reminded me a bit of Sarah Lotz’s “The Three” which I LOVED and even though I didn’t get it in 2015 I’m definitely going to buy and read it this year.

Which 2015 releases did you mean to read but didn’t in the end?

Kommentar verfassen:

23 Antworten zu diesem Beitrag

  • Great list! I have The Rest Of Us Just Live Here sitting on my shelf waiting for me to read for the past few months. Hopefully I’ll get to it soon as I’ve heard good things about it. 🙂

    • I’m really trying to resist the temptation to buy it until I’ve finished the Chaos Walking series but every time I see pictures of how pretty the book is it makes me want to buy it right away 😀

  • Meine Güte, der Unterschied, den die Cover bei Michael Bussi in der deutschen und in der englischen Variante ausmachen, ist enorm! Ich habe das Buch dank Kaisu auch auf meiner Liste, aber das Cover von Orion rückt das Buch in ein ganz anderes Licht als es die Ausgabe von Aufbau entstehen lässt. So viel zum Thema zielgruppenorientiertes Coverdesign. 😉

  • I’ve been listening to the Welcome to Night Vale podcast and I really liked it. I hope to get to the book. 🙂

    Check out my TTT.

    • I like it, too, but I have to admit that I’m not always fully concentrated while listening 😀 I’m really curious if the book has a real storyline or if it’s also just some random anecdotes…

  • I couldn’t decide if I wanted to read “Bone Gap” last year, so it’s still on my “maybe” shelf. I saw Crini’s review and a few other raving ones, but magical realism is so hit-or-miss with me. Let me know if you do end up buying it. 🙂

    “Star Wars: Aftermath” is another one I couldn’t decide if I wanted to read, although I have it on my Kindle already.

    I actually started “Welcome to the Night Vale,” but I didn’t get very far. Listening to the podcast first was probably a smart choice, haha.

    The John Cleaver series is on my list for this year!

    The main books left from 2015 are “Wolf by Wolf,” “A Madness So Discreet,” and “Golden Son.” I will definitely get to all three this year. 🙂

    • I’m definitely planning to get BONE GAP some time this year but I’m not sure yet if I’ll get the PB or hope to get the HC for a better prize 😀

      I’m not sure though if I still want to read STAR WARS: AFTERMATH, I guess I’ll read the second Atlanta Burns book first and see if it’s as good as the first one. I have to admit that ZER0ES made me very skeptical about Chuck Wendig’s books 😀

      I didn’t know you already started WELCOME TO NIGHT VALE! Does it have an actual storyline or is it just some random episodes like in the podcast?

      • Haha, I wish I could answer that question, but I started it in the middle of the night, and I really have no idea what happened. I had trouble following the audiobook, so I gave up on it. 😛 (I think it’s supposed to have an actual plot, though.)

  • I bought my husband Aftermath, he is struggling through it because of all the POVs!
    Missie @ A Flurry of Ponderings
    Enter my Ultimate Scavenger Hunt Giveaway

    • I’m not sure if I still want to read STAR WARS: AFTERMATH, I’ve heard mixed reactions about the book and also Wendig’s ZER0ES left me pretty disappointed…

  • Wow 150 books? That’s impressive! I too want to read The Rest of Us Just Live Here, hopefully in 2016.

    • I’m going to get it as soon as I’ve finished the CHAOS WALKING series, I hope it won’t take me long to read the second and third book 😀

  • Totally with you on WELCOME TO NIGHT VALE. When researching the audiobook for my Audible article, I quickly realised how closely it is tied to the podcast, and that the audiobook wouldn’t be half as much fun without prior knowledge of at least a few podcast episodes.
    I listened to several excerpts from the podcast and then stopped, realizing that I would quickly become too enthralled and probably start binge-listening. And I really didn’t have the time at that point. Like you, still planning on doing that. Would certainly be worth it.

    • I have to admit that I’m not always fully concentrated when I’m listening to the podcast and some episodes are also quite boring and I had to take a break after the first 50 episodes 😀 But I’m definitely going to continue soon because I REALLY want to read the book^^

  • Wow, 150 books! That’s amazing.

    I read and really enjoyed The Rest of Us Just Live Here. It was nice to read about the normal kids instead of the unique superhero types for a change!

  • I knew about the podcast waay before the book. I’m interested to see how Welcome to Nightvale translates to paper format.

  • Bone Gap was just awarded the Michael Printz award by the American Library Association so now I feel like I should give it a try too. It sounds kind of interesting but also kind of weird and is definitely not my usual kind of book.

    I am curious about the Chuck Wendig book too. I’ve enjoyed some Star Wars novels (mainly Timothy Zahn’s Thrawn trilogy and a few others) but I usually prefer to check them out from the library in case I am disappointed. I read the novelization of The Force Awakens by Alan Dean Foster (after seeing the movie) and while I liked it, I also thought the writing could have been much better.

    I hope you enjoy these books whenever you get the chance to read them. Thanks for stopping by my blog!

    • BONE GAP seems to be an untypical book for me, too, because I’m usually not that interested in magical realism but I can’t help being super curious about it because I’ve heard lots of good things about it.

      I’ve never read a Star Wars novel before though I often thought about trying the Shakespeare versions but I’m always afraid that the books won’t match up to the movies…

  • There are just too many amazing books and not enough time to read them! Christmas was very Star Wars themed this year, and I got a lot of Star Wars books, including Aftermath! I hadn’t ever read a Chuck Wendig book, so I am excited to try him out 🙂

    • Oh, I hope you’ll like AFTERMATH then! You also have to try Wendig’s MIRIAM BLACK series, they are such great books with an absolutely amazing and unique protagonist! 😉